Applying to College

After you have done the research and you have your REACH, TARGET, SAFETY & FINANCIAL SAFETY schools chosen, you now have to decide HOW you are going to apply. [Below is a great example graphic on the differences of each]

Some schools have only 1 preferred university application, while others may have other ways of applying like using the COMMON APPLICATION or the COALITION APPLICATION. 

Each application is different in that the essays have different topics and the information needed is presented in a unique way. 

Please REACH OUT TO YOUR COUNSELOR or Ms. Amador-Zapata (college counselor) BEFORE you begin applying. 

Use this College Application checklist here to make sure you do all the necessary steps to apply

RTS_schools_breakdown

(click on picture to enlarge)

Sending ACT & SAT scores

Please be aware that sending scores can take 4-6 weeks for colleges to receive. If not done early enough, you may miss your college deadline to submit materials. ALL MATERIALS (application, transcript, recommendation letters, ACT/SAT scores) need to arrive before the college application deadline. 

Resume/School Activities

Example here

Sending Transcripts 

via Parchment here   Instructions here

Sending School Report, Midyear Report, or Letters of Recommendation

Please communicate FREQUENTLY and CLEARLY what materials you need from your counselor to be sent. You will need to input your counselor's email in order for them to be able to work on their portion of the application. Be as accurate as possible when entering their contact information. 

Grace Alderson grace.alderson@d214.org

Joyce Brewer joyce.brewer@d214.org

Ziomara Gil ziomara.gil@d214.org

Allison Kulla allison.kulla@d214.org

Michael O'Keeffe michael.okeeffe@d214.org

Brandi Rojas brandi.rojas@d214.org

Robert Sochowski robert.sochowsk@d214.org (please note the "i" is purposely omitted in the email address)

Joanne Amador-Zapata joanne.amador@d214.org

Unique opportunities for First generation and/or low-income students

  • The Greenlight Scholars application is a new way for low-income and first-generation students to apply to college. Developed with help from leaders in the college access community, Greenlight Scholars seeks to level the playing field for students. Start applying to nearly 30 colleges today, click here.

    • No Application Fees-The Greenlight Scholars application is free with no fee waivers required.

    • Share Your Unique Story-Students are able to go beyond grades and test scores to share a more complete picture of their academics, skills, experiences, and potential.

Other opportunities include: